Sunday, December 12, 2010


Dub step seems to be doing it's bit in cashing in on electronica's successful infiltration into more mainstream indie music. And as much as I don't like saying it, but have to's kind of taking over the electronic scene.  Seems like every party you go to these days is tainted with this mind numbing goo rhythm of a sound. But there is a light at the end of the tunnel! Olinosterfant a three piece act hailing from Durbanville has managed to make dub step more digestible for those who are lesser-of fans by infusing it  with rousing 8 bit energy and dusting it off with super-crisp production. Give two of their tracks below a listen or download it for further indulgence (right click, 'save target as'). And when that's done go tell them how much you've enjoyed their sound by befriending them on facebook and commenting on their wall.

Location: Durbanville
Members: Vocals/Gameboy/Lyrics - Jaak,  Synths/Programming/Guitar - Willie, Vocals/keyboard/Lyrics - Nelmari
Band page: facebook 


Sunday, December 5, 2010


With the first listen to Yeah Ok I'm left to imagine worn out masses, soaked with sweat and filled with sublime emotion after these guys have left the stage. It's finally here!, the much anticipated d├ębut of the Belfast native punktronic trio, Not Squares.

1. Release The Bees (7:42)
2. De Na Na (2:58)
3. In Front (2:34)
4. Smith & Carlos (4:45)
5. Asylum (4:11)
6. Don't Do Nothing (5:25)
7. Yeah! (4:24)
8. Ojos Para Volar (3:53)
9. Bi Kan Na (3:04)
10. 53 (7:23)

Bonus: This will keep you moving
Dancing Pigeons - Brushfield Spots [Download]
MIT - Was War Es [Download]

Saturday, December 4, 2010


Inspired by sand surf and sun, that which was, still is, and those that will be. A mixtape  celebrating bands of recent times that's reviving the shoegaze, noise pop and lo fi rock scene.
Big thanks to Thomas for designing the album art. Visit his blog here and befriend him here.

1. Black Tambourine - Heartbeat (1:41)
2. Sea Pinks - Falling Over (3:09)
3. The Young Friends - Downtown (1:54)
4. ROLLERSKATERS - Boyhood (2:52)
5. French Films - Take You with Me (2:31)
6. Crystal Stilts - Love is a Wave (1:59)
7. Dum Dum Girls - Oh Mein Me (2:11)
8. Vivian Girls - Damaged (2:06)
9. Slow Club - Giving Up On Love (2:50)
10. Seapony - Dreaming (2:20)
11. Lovvers - Human Hair (0:46)
12. Eddy Current Suppression Ring - Cool Ice Cream (2:57)
13. Black Lips - O Katrina! (2:50)
14. Wavves - King of the Beach (2:38)
15. Lovvers - Ocd Go Go Girls (3:48)
16. Crystal Stilts - Departure (4:28)
17. The Notes - Dancing Shoes (2:20)
18. Best Coast - Far Away (1:24)
19. French Films - Golden Sea (2:28)
20. Girls Names - Graveyard (2:45)
21. Beach Fossils - Twelve Roses (2:19)
22. Sex Beet - Sugar Water (3:08)
23. Electricity In Our Homes - Hooves (3:33)
24. The Ponys - Double Vision (3:37)

 Grab each track individually (right click, 'save target as') or download the entire mix here.

2010 has not disappointed in music at all and matters just keep on getting sweeter -->Crystal Stilts are back with a new single Shake The Shackles, after a two year dormancy!!

Crystal Stilts - Shake The Shackles [Download] - (PS: the first serving of the bands second disc, due early 2011)